Why Do You Love To Swim?

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately: Why do I love to swim? Analyzing this has helped keep me in tune with why I’ve started swimming again, or as an old friend put it today, decided to “make a comeback”. (I thought that was pretty cute!)

Here’s why I love to swim:

  • I feel good when I swim. There is nothing like the feeling of sliding comfortably through the water.
  • Along with that, I get to feel kind of like a kid again. And that is always a good thing.
  • I love the quietness of swimming. All I hear is the sound of the water and whatever thoughts I decide to have. It is absolutely peaceful.
  • It gives me the opportunity to remember what it’s like to be good at something – even though I’m not that good right now!
  • I love the camaraderie of masters swimming.
  • I get to unplug. Contrary to popular belief, I do not swim with my laptop and Blackberry attached to me.
  • I don’t care what anyone says, but I have always loved swim suit shopping. And they are so darn cute these days!

Am I the only one who sits around and thinks about these things?

http://h20chik.blogspot.sg/ Rambling thoughts from a thirty-something “has been” swimmer who is venturing into the the world of masters swimming.

Leave a Reply

